Sound System Culture

Donnerstag, 18 April bis Montag, 22 April

Sound System Culture

Short url: 

https://squ.at/r/a7s4

As it Sounds Conference & Festival

Save the date April 18th – 21st we invite you to a 4-day intervention with workshops, discussions, talks, performances, exhibitions and dj sets.

Where? Projektraum Kunstquartier Bethanien, Mariannenplatz 2A, 10997 Berlin. For directions look here

When? April 18/ 19/ 20 5.00 – 10.00 PM (17.00 – 22.00 Fri – Sat) April 21 3.00 – 8.00 PM (15.00 – 20.00 Sun)

Entrance? FREE

Stacks, tubes and conical apparatuses, for those engaged in the appreciation of sonic
endeavours, are more than inanimate objects. Sound System Culture aims to shed light on
the aspects of the sound system that extend beyond the PA system, to the group behind it
that builds, operates, and creates the crucial interaction between social groups. These
may be the crew, musicians, technicians, but also the local supporters of such scenes.
When seen in such light, sound systems become an instrument to play music, a tool to
create and change landscapes, to amplify statements, and eventually form cultures and
communities.
As an audience you are invited to get involved in the event through workshops, exhibitions,
lectures, installations, performances
and of course through moving to the sound. We bring
the academic discourse to the dance floor, the party to the lecture hall and the sound
system as an art object to the gallery.
Held in a festival format at the Kunstquartier Bethanien, the four day program was
designed for artists and visitors to meet eye to eye, and explore from different
perspectives, content-related / aesthetic aspects of what we perceive as sound system
culture.


Sound Performances:
DJ Badshape [www.instagram.com/djbadshape/]
DJ Die Soon [www.instagram.com/dingy_dysu/] feat Infinite Livez [www.instagram.com/infinite_livez/]
Ilia Gorovitz [www.instagram.com/iliagorovitz/] & Munsha [www.instagram.com/munsha_33/]
Chebedajah [www.instagram.com/jeannettepetrik/]
.PK. [www.instagram.com/ipekodabasi__/] & BEEATSZ [www.instagram.com/bpf666bpf/]
Prince Istari [www.instagram.com/istarilasterfahrer/] aka Istari Lasterfahrer
Psychic Defense [www.instagram.com/explore/tags/praxisrecords/]
Rafush [www.instagram.com/rafush___/]
Roots Daughters [www.instagram.com/rootsdaughters/]
Schoco Mune [www.instagram.com/schocomune/]
Shannon Soundquist [www.instagram.com/shannon_soundquist/]


Workshops:
Jeannette Petrik [www.instagram.com/jeannettepetrik/]
Shannon Soundquist


Lectures, Talks, Panels:
— ‘Experimental Music in Eastern Europe’ with SPFM Booking [www.instagram.com/spfmbooking/]
— ‘Global Bass and Community Work’ with Jackie Jackpot [www.instagram.com/jackiejackpot/] (Jenseits von Nelken und
Pralinen) Richard Akingbehin [www.instagram.com/richardakingbehin/] (Refuge Worldwide) Sarah Farina [www.instagram.com/sarahfarinabln/] (Transmission)
— ‘Nothing Essential Happens in the Absence of Noise…’ with Praxis Records [www.instagram.com/explore/tags/praxisrecords/]
(discoursive film screening and listening)
Conny Zenk [www.instagram.com/connyzenk/] 'Take back the street - sound rides and sound bikes'


Exhibition:
—- Fabio Ney
—- Group exhibition University of Art and Design Linz
Powered by BUSS (Big & Ugly Soundsystem)

This year’s event was made in cooperation with the University of Art and Design Linz
thanks to Eliot & Moritz Pisk , funded and supported by the Musicboard Berlin GmbH and
Stiftung DKLB.

https://soundsystemcultureberlin.com/2024/03/25/upcoming-event-as-it-sounds-conference-festival/

 

Datum & Zeit: 

Donnerstag, 18 April, 2024 - 17:00 bis Montag, 22 April, 2024 - 00:00

Kategorie: 

  • Kurs/Workshop
  • Diskussion/Vortrag
  • Ausstellung
  • Film
  • Musik/Konzert
  • Party

Themen: 

  • barrierearm
Bethaniendamm
Deutschland